leckerman
For PA DUI Call: (215) 496-9292

...and How Does "Committing Multiple Offenses After A DUI Conviction" Affect My DUI Charges

 

If you are facing a DUI in Pennsylvania and it isn’t your first time, an experienced attorney will know that you probably have a lot of questions. Will you go to jail? How much will it cost you? Will they take your license away? What about the possibility of probation, DUI school, or community service to avoid steeper penalties? What will this do to your insurance premiums?

The first thing you should know is that Pennsylvania has a tiered approach in its DUI laws. Penalties are determined by the number of prior DUI offenses you have in conjunction with your Blood Alcohol Content:

  • General Impairment (.08 to .099% BAC)
  • High BAC (.10 to .159% BAC)
  • Highest BAC (.16% and higher)

If you are involved in an accident, drive a commercial vehicle like a truck, bus, or school vehicle, or are a minor, you could be charged with the “High BAC” category even if your BAC was actually lower. Below are penalties for multiple offenses.

Second Pennsylvania DUI Offense

BAC .08 – .099

  • 5 days mandatory, and up to 6 months in jail
  • minimum fine of $300, with a maximum of $2,500
  • 12 months license suspension

BAC .10 – .159

  • 30 days mandatory, and up to 6 months in jail
  • minimum fine of $750, with a maximum of $5,000
  • 12 months license suspension

BAC .16

  • 90 days mandatory, and up to 5 years in jail
  • $1,500 fine
  • 18 months license suspension
  • Required Alcohol Highway Safety School
  • Ignition Interlock required prior to getting your license reinstated

Third Pennsylvania DUI Offense

BAC .08-.099

  • 10 days mandatory, and up to 2 years in jail
  • minimum fine of $500, with a maximum of $5,000
  • 12 months license suspension

BAC .10-.159

  • 90 days mandatory, and up to 5 years in jail
  • minimum fine of $1,500, with a maximum of $10,000
  • 18 months license suspension

BAC .16

  • 1 year mandatory, and up to 5 years in jail
  • minimum fine of $2,500
  • 18 months license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock required prior to getting your license reinstated

Do not mess around with a second, third, or even fourth Pennsylvania DUI charge. The consequences are serious, but there is hope. Seek out a Pennsylvania DUI attorney who can clearly explain the law and let you know what your options are. If your criminal record is free of violent crimes, you might be eligible for Pennsylvania’s DUI treatment court. This court has a program available to multiple DUI offenders that aims to make them productive citizens. Your mandatory jail sentence might be reduced by attending this program, so ask your DUI attorney about it.

If you are not eligible for DUI treatment court, don’t lose heart. Cases involving breath testing devices are challenged routinely, but only if you have a knowledgeable DUI lawyer on your side. There are many factors that can contribute to an incorrect breath reading, including system malfunction, misuse by the administering officer, and differences in your body’s physiology.

A Pennsylvania DUI attorney such as Kevin Leckerman of Leckerman Law, LLC can guide you through the legal jungle and create the best possible defense for your specific circumstances. If you’ve been charged with a DUI and it isn’t your first time, take the charge very seriously and contact an experienced DUI lawyer in Pennsylvania today.

By Kevin Leckerman

Request a Consultation with Kevin Leckerman

 
 

A request for a consultation does not in any manner create an attorney-client relationship