Touch Here To Claim Your Consultation:(856) 429-2323

Menu

New Jersey DWI

Getting arrested for a DWI in New Jersey can be overwhelmingly distressing.  Considering the possible outcomes of a DWI charge, you are probably concerned about losing your driving privileges, having an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle and the financial costs. You may also have  concerns about the possibility of serving jail time, losing your job or increased insurance costs.

With so much at stake, it’s quite natural for anyone to go through an emotional upheaval.  To make matters worse, you face complicated procedures and complexities of New Jersey DWI law.  Notwithstanding the effects of the charge you are facing, it may be hard for you to come to terms with the embarrassment and the inconvenience of a DWI conviction on your driving record.

New Jersey DWI penalties are harsh.  Even first offense penalties in New Jersey reflect the State’s aggressive attitude toward DWI violations. You can well judge the severity of New Jersey DWI penalties by the fact that even a first time conviction gets you a mandatory license suspension. In addition to a license suspension with every conviction, there can be heavy fines, and the possibility of jail time. For a second and subsequent offense, a judge must sentence you to jail upon conviction.

Apart from the court imposed sanctions, there are a number of collateral consequences from a New Jersey DWI conviction that may influence your future, such as cancellation of auto insurance, raised insurance premiums, problems in renting vehicles, restricted after work activities, problem getting a professional license,  eligibility for getting insurance cover or cancellation of employment contracts.

In New Jersey, any person with a BAC of 0.08% or greater operating a motor vehicle or a boat will be considered driving under the influence (DWI).

Being convicted of a DWI is a serious offense, carrying heavy penalties including:

  • Fines, fees and surcharges
  • License suspension
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Jail time
  • Community service

Mandatory fines and penalties

In case of BAC of 0.10% or higher

  • Driving license revocation of 7 months  up to 1 year
  • Fine of $300 -$500
  • Prison term of up to 30 days
  • IRDC 12- 48 hours
  • Community service

In case of BAC of greater than 0.08% but less than 0.10%

  • Driving license revocation of 3 months
  • Fine of $250 -$500
  • Prison term of up to 30 days
  • IRDC 12- 48 hours

In case of second offense (within 10 years)

  • Driving license revocation of 2 years
  • Fine of $500 -$1000
  • Prison term of up to 48 hour – 90 days
  • IRDC 12- 48 hours
  • Community service 30 days

In case of third offense (within 10 years of the second offense)

  • Driving license revocation of 10 years
  • Fine of $1000
  • Prison term of 180 days
  • IRDC 12- 48 hours

There is simply so much at stake in a New Jersey DWI case that you need the advice and representation of a seasoned professional to play it safe.

Leckerman