For NJ DWI Call (856) 429-2323

For PA DUI Call (215) 496-9292

Are you feeling scared and overwhelmed by a Philadelphia DUI charge? You don’t need to go through it alone. Contact a qualified Philadelphia County DUI attorney in Pennsylvania to talk about what options are available to you. He or she can work towards getting the charges dropped or reduced if possible, and can help you to get a better deal.

No matter what your situation, it is to your advantage to get professional legal advice. Did you fail a breathalyzer test? You can contest the results based on many factors such as machine calibration issues, incorrect usage of the device, and your own body’s chemistry.

Additionally, there are many reasons you may have gotten a false high reading when you were pulled over for a Philadelphia DUI. For instance, if you had recently used mouthwash or breath spray, the alcohol from these substances was still in your mouth, causing the device to report a higher blood alcohol content reading than you actually had. These factors can make the difference between an acquittal and a conviction, and they can also help you to receive lesser punishments.

The other test you were likely given by a Philadelphia officer is a field sobriety test. You were given a series of tasks, such as walking in a straight line. The officer recorded your performance and docked you points for various things. These lost points are often highly subjective, and many can be contested. It’s also possible that the officer conducted the tests wrong, such as asking you to perform them on uneven ground.

There are many ways that breath test results and the conclusions drawn from a field test can be put into question and even thrown out of court entirely. An experienced Philadelphia lawyer will understand these options, know where to look, and be able to provide you with guidance on a defense to pursue. He or she will represent your interests in court to work towards the best possible outcome.

Consider this scenario. If you are charged with a first offense for Highest Blood Alcohol Content DUI in Philadelphia, which means the recorded blood alcohol content at the time of arrest was 0.16% or higher, you can have your Pennsylvania driver’s license suspended for one year, be given 72 to 6 months in jail, be fined from $1,000 to $5,000, and be ordered to attend mandatory alcohol highway safety school and alcohol and drug treatment.

However, if you are able to prove that the breathalyzer results were inaccurate and instead are charged with general impairment, with a blood alcohol content of between 0.08% to 0.099%, then you will only have to face 6 months of probation – no jail time – a $300 fine, and attendance at alcohol highway safety school and alcohol and drug treatment.

The penalties for the different blood alcohol levels vary greatly, so it is in your best interest to ensure that the results that the police recorded were accurate. Just because you were charged, does not mean you are guilty.

Don’t let the court simply assign you punishment. Find a Philadelphia DUI attorney who will investigate your case to ensure that your rights and interests are protected so that you can work towards the best possible outcome.

The logo for leckerman law - Johnsonbox

Request A Consultation For
NJ DWI Call: (856) 429-2323 

PA DUI Call: (215) 496-9292

Accessibility Accessibility
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U