Surcharges are fines assessed by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) for drivers who have committed a DWI. Surcharges are assessed in addition to any court fines and penalties. If you have received a notice in the mail of a surcharge, call (609) 292-7500 for more information.
Paying your surcharges
There are several ways of paying your surchage:
- Go to www.njsurcharge.com
- Visit an MVC Regional Service Center
- Visit an MVC Agency offering walk-in service
- Call toll free at (888) 651-9999 to charge by credit card
- Send a check or money order payable to: New Jersey Motor Vehicle CommissionNJ-AISCP.O. Box 4850
Trenton, NJ 08650
Surcharges for Motor Vehicle Violations
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission reviews a driver’s record every time points are assessed due to a motor vehicle offense. If a driver accumulates six or more points within three years from the last posted violation, a $150 surcharge will be assessed plus $25 for each additional point.
Additional surcharges may also apply:
- $100 for driving without a license
- $250 for driving with a suspended license
- $100 for failure to insure a moped
- $250 for operating an uninsured vehicle
- $1,000 a year for DWI, 3 years
- $1,000 a year for Refusal to take breath test, 3 years
If surcharges are not paid, MVC will suspend driving privileges indefinitely and proceed with other legal actions. These legal remedies may include securing a lien against property, garnishing wages or other similar actions. Payment plans are available to MVC customers.
If there are surcharges from unpaid tickets or other unresolved legal issues, you will need to contact the court where the tickets were issued. To determine which court issued a ticket, call MVC Violations at (609) 292-7500.