New Jersey IDRC
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a major traffic offense, punishable with fines, jail-time, and suspension of a driver’s license. For those offenders living in the state of New Jersey, knowing what the IDRC is and how it works is vitally important.
So, what is the IDRC? The IDRC is short for the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, which has locations throughout the State of New Jersey for drivers who have been involved in alcohol-related offenses while behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. There are IDRC centers throughout each county of the state for first-time offenders and there are three regional centers for second-time offenders.
If you have been charged with any alcohol-related traffic offense in the State of New Jersey, be prepared to not only lose your license for a specific amount of time but also to take part in various courses at a local IDRC. Offenders will need to take classes that discuss Alcohol and Highway Safety Education. While taking part in those classes, the IDRC staff will also evaluate the offender for drug and alcohol problems that might require the offender to seek rehabilitation services after going through the state program. Should an offender require drug and alcohol rehabilitation treatment, the IDRC will refer the offender to a provider in the area for a 16-week program. The offender is allowed to supplement his or her rehabilitation treatment by attending self-help classes on the side. Should the offender not comply with mandatory courses or rehabilitation, the IDRC will submit non-compliance to the state court system and the Motor Vehicle Commission.
Fees Charged by the IDRC
Driving While Intoxicated offenders will need to pay quite a bit of money in fees and other related charges when attending IDRC classes. The fees associated with the IDRC include the following:
- $100 attendance fee paid to the Motor Vehicle Commission
- $230 first offender fee paid to the IDRC
- $280 second offender fee paid to the IDRC
- $100 license restoration fee paid to the Motor Vehicle Commission
IDRC and Number of Offenses
The IDRC operates depending on the number of offenses a person has committed regarding alcohol and operating a motor vehicle. If it is the first offense of a motorist, he or she will face the following from the IDRC:
- Detained, educated, and evaluated for at least six hours each day for a two-day period (consecutive days) at the country IDRC where you reside or where your arrest took place
If you are a second offender, you will face the following at a regional IDRC office:
- Should you not be sentenced to jail, you will be detained and evaluated over 48 consecutive hours
Should you not comply with the IDRC courses, pay the fees in the required amount of time, or fail to attend the courses, your license suspension could be extended. If so, you will still need to complete the program prior to having your license reinstated. If you live outside of New Jersey, but within driving distance of an IDRC, you will be required to go through the program and complete it before your license is reinstated. If you do not live within driving distance of the state, you will be forced to complete the program in your home state before your license can be reinstated.
The IDRC and its authority come from the DWI Statute in the state of New Jersey, which is section (f), N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Aside from monitoring non-compliance, the IDRC also monitors compliance, reporting to the courts and the Motor Vehicle Commission when an offender has passed the course and all required segments.